The University of Alabama
Electronic Resource Trials
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Trials are available for review purposes only. Please share your comments and suggestions about these databases by filling out our database evaluation form or contacting the Electronic Resources Unit directly. 
 
NOTE: Trials are only available on the University of Alabama campus.
Films on Demand none none Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from established educational media distributors. Videos cover a wide range of academic subjects, and users can create their own unique custom segments.  The interface also allows searching by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject areas, capturing citations, and many titles offer closed-captioning and searchable transcripts.  

Trial extended to March 6, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Ship Index none none Ship Index database indexes the names of specific vessels in books, magazines, and online resources, permitting researchers to track a ship through the course of maritime history.

Trial extended to March 6, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Nineteenth Century Collections Online, parts 9 - 12 none none Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digital archive of primary sources produced in the 19th Century.  The trial for parts 9 - 12 is fully integrated into The University of Alabama's existing collections parts 1 - 8, and includes:  Religion, Spirituality, Reform & Society;  Mapping the World:  Maps & Travel Literature;  Children's Literature & Childhood;  Science, Technology and Medicine, part II.  The University of Alabama's existing collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;  British Politics and Society;  British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture;  Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest;  European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;  Photography: The World through the Lens;  Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925;  Women: Transnational Networks.

Trial extended to March 6, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Arab World Research Source none none Arab World Research Source is designed for students and researchers of Arabic Studies, Middle Eastern Studies and Islamic Studies. This resource offers academic journals, trade publications, conference papers, industry profiles, and more that are published in or pertain specifically to the Arab World.  It covers a diverse range of disciplines including Art, Business, Law, Politics, Religion and more. Key titles include DOMES: Digest of Middle East Studies, Journal of Social Sciences, Arab Journal of Nephrology & Transplantation, Journal of King Abdulaziz: Marine Sciences, Annals of Arts & Social Sciences, and Journal of Sharia & Islamic Studies.

Trial ends March 5, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Musical Theater Songs none none
Musical Theater Songs enables users to search for songs suitable for their voice and character types.  It is also possible to search by composer, lyricist,  song and show title, as well as tempo, mood, key, and voice range.   Currently, more than 5,000 song titles are indexed,  and users can find songs for auditions, performances, or for study.  There are also links to third-party sites where users can purchase sheet music or recordings.

Trial ends March 5, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library none none
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library is a collection of pamphlets from the personal library of Brazilian diplomat, historian, and journalist Manoel de Oliveira Lima covers a wide range of topics: colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature. The works are primarily in Portuguese.

Trial ends March 12, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New
York Historical Society
none none

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books offers primary source materials that were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War. This collection, developed in conjunction with the New-York Historical Society, offers unique access to Orderly Books and contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817.  The content also provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.

Trial ends March 12, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource

Oxford Bibliographies Online none none Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities.  Bibliography modules include:  African Studies; American Literature; Anthropology; Art History; various Religion studies subjects; Communications, Arts and Music studies;  Philosophy; Political Science and International Relations; various Business and Law topics; a number of Social Sciences subjects; Literature and Linguistics subjects; etc.

Trial ends March 12, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
MyHeritage Library Edition none none MyHeritage Library Edition is a global genealogy resource that provides access to records from all over the world--including birth, death, military and immigration. Coverage starts from the 16th century and also includes the US and UK federal censuses, historical photographs, wills, government records, yearbooks and passenger lists, among other resources. Researchers can access information about specialized topics, social, cultural and political trends or a specific region or topic. New content is added daily.

Trial ends March 24, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource


ProQuest Historical Statistical Abstracts of the US 1970-2012
 
none none Historical Statistical Abstracts of the US 1970-2012 is part of Proquest Statistical Insight, which is built to find and retrieve statistical content and spans more than 600,000 published tables a year on thousands of different topics. It provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Trial ends March 31, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States none none
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. provides a comprehensive and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others. The database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns. This was a  U.S. Government publication from 1878-2012.

Trial ends March 31, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World none none Statistical Abstracts of the World aggregates the statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.

Trial ends March 31, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource
Associated Press Collections Online none none Associated Press Collections Online is a publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide. Exploring the history and back story of the Associated Press it includes decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.

Trial ends April 2, 2015

Click here to evaluate this resource