The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
6 matches found
T
Television News Archive Some Full Text
Coverage: 1968-present
Description: TVNA is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks - ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN - and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Equipment Requirements: Users will need RealOne media play installed to view the video clips.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
TESTS: LearningExpress Library All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Provided by the Alabama Public Library Service, Learning Express Library offers unlimited, 24/7 access to targeted skill–building interactive courses and practice tests for most undergraduate and graduate exams as well as professional exams. Tests included are GRE, ACT, SAT, TOEFL, LSAT, GMAT MCAT and PRAXIS among many others. Tests for general math, reading, writing, software applications such as Microsoft office, and Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator are also included. All practice tests include instant diagnostic score reports that help target those skill areas that need the most attention.
ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS: First-time users must create an account HERE. Choose TESTS: Learning Express Library from the Resource and Research Links list, and then create an account with a username and password. Using your MyBama username and password is not required.
Registered users CLICK HERE to login.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 8th Century B.C. - A.D. 1453
Description: The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a digital library containing most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. TLG currently provides access to 3,500 authors and 11,000 works. The project's goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1785-1985
Description: Covers all news printed by The Times newspaper between 1785 and 1985. Includes everything from top news stories to editorials, obituaries, sports, and advertisements. Excludes Sunday editions.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1914 - 1919
Description: Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War is an archival research resource containing a large collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the Firt World War. It contains periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations published between 1914 and the end of 1919.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Twayne's Authors Series (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Database composed of Twayne's three print literature series-United States Authors, English Authors, and World Authors. Covers almost 600 authors from ancient times to the present. Users can search by name, genre, nationality, gender, language, and time period. Includes updated information such as biography, history of literary movements, criticisms, and other useful research material.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Biographies, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available