The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
40 matches found
S
Coverage: 1500-1926
Description: Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History, Latin American Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SAE Digital Library (NAAL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1998-present
Description: The SAE Digital Library contains over 130,000 documents on mobility topics, including: more than 2,000 SAE Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); more than 2,800 SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications; more than 3,900 SAE Aerospace Standards; and more than 14,000 SAE Technical Papers.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Safari Books Online All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Access thousands of current technology titles for development and IT professionals. Search across all content simultaneously to pinpoint the most relevant and helpful information available or use the advanced search feature to filter results. Topics include programming, Web development, software development, system administration, network administration, desktop applications, operating systems and databases, covering topics such as Java, C/C++, C#, .NET, PHP/Python/Perl, Ruby, Flash, Cisco, UNIX, Linux, SQL, JavaScript, Ajax, ActionScript, Flex, AIR and many more. Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Computer Science
Material Type: E-Books
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SAI Global All Full Text
Coverage: Historical and current standards for all industrial countries
Description: Worldwide standards and specifications. Standards from ASME, ISO, NFPA and other organizations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SBRnet All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Market research and industry news for the sporting goods and sports marketing industries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ScienceDirect (NAAL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Information source for world's scientific, medical, and technical research, but also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains 1,500,000+ articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, medicine, etc. Includes links to 10,000 journal titles, articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print, access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Linguistics, Mathematics, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Physics & Astronomy, Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
SciFinder Some Full Text
Coverage:
Description: SciFinder Scholar provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Enhancements made in February 2000 include: CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals) and CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information).
Access Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder Web, click here to login.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Science
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Scirus Some Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Scirus searches more than 200 million science-specific web pages, allowing users to pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web and allowing users to find reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints and journals.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Scopus Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus covers 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities. The citation index piece includes the h-index and more.
NOTE: If you are using Internet Explorer 9 (IE9), please follow these instructions. In IE9, go to “Tools” and then click on “Compatibility view settings.” From there a window will appear and ask you to add www.scopus.com. Once you add the site, Scopus will function correctly in IE9.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Scribner Writers Series (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: The Scribner Writers Series includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Scripta Sinica Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Ancient times to 1949
Description: A Chinese full text database that encompasses historical materials, including more than 400 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1600-1799
Description: The largest single collection of English news media from these two centuries, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers provides rare and often unique content for scholarly research into a wide range of political, educational, economic or journalistic study.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Shakespeare Collection All Full Text
Coverage: Late 16th century-present
Description: The Shakespeare Collection is an interdisciplinary, multimedia collection of resources supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare’s works published during Shakespeare’s time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosses Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference works.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1801-1820
Description: This collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 to 1820 is based on the American Bibliography, 1801-1819 of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. The database is cross-searchable with Evans, 1639-1800 (Early American Imprints, Series I); American Pamphlets, Series I: 1820-1922; and American Broadsides & Ephemera.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, English, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Shen Bao Digital Archive All Full Text
Coverage: 1872-1949
Description: The Shen Bao Digital Archive presents the complete collection of all issues, from the newspaper’s founding in 1872 to 1949. The Shen Bao newspaper was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. Founded by Englishman Ernest Major as a newspaper for Chinese people, written by Chinese reporters, it gradually shifted from a conservative perspective to a liberal one, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the Imperial Period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. The full-image, full-test Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1969 - present
Description: Shock & Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 100,000 records, which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Sound and Vibration, Journal of Vibration & Control, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1969.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Short Story Index Some Full Text
Coverage: 1984-Current
Description: The Short Story Index is a guide to finding important contemporary literature. It provides index coverage of short stories written in or translated into English and published in collections or in periodicals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Simmons OneView All Full Text
Coverage: Data runs approximately two to three years behind current year.
Description: Contains data profiling consumers of a wide range of products, including both demographic data and media preferences.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Communications
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SimplyMap All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing variables. Custom information can be exported to Excel, PDF, Microsoft Word and more. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SIRS Discoverer on the Web (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: An interactive tool that strengthens research, reading, writing and computer skills. Discoverer includes middle and elementary school curriculum topics and three reading levels--easy, moderate, and challenging--which can be integrated into classroom activities. Also contains Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, Merriam Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus, and a world almanac for kids.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: K-12 Resources
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1960-1974
Description: This collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970s. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1500s-1800s
Description: Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual and global way. Once completed, this digital collection will comprise five million pages of documents selected by a renowned board of scholars. The varied sources shed light on the: Abolitionist movement and conflicts within it; Anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period; Debates on the subject of colonization; And more. The resource strongly supports research with a U.S. focus, but also includes resources from Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean – allowing for comparative research. Developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, this new digital archive explores all facets of the controversy with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious and government issues.
Access:
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History, Latin American Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1985-present
Description: "The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts,covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals." -- ISI Web of Science
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Geography, Psychology
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Social Services Abstracts Some Full Text
Coverage: 1980-current
Description: CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. It is possible to search both Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts at the same time. It is possible to search both Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts at the same time.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Social Work, Sociology
Material Type: Book Reviews, Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SocINDEX with Full Text Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: SocINDEX with Full Text provides content encompassing a broad spectrum of sociological study, sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Subjects include such topics as abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Criminal Justice
Material Type: Book Reviews, Dissertations and Theses, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Sociological Abstracts Some Full Text
Coverage: 1963-present Search Tips
Description: CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations,and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Psychology, Religious Studies, Social Work, Sociology
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: Something About the Author Online provides online access to volumes printed in Gale's long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is a source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, K-12 Resources
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Southern Genealogies All Full Text
Coverage: 1600-1800
Description: Contains images of the pages of all twenty-three volumes of Historical Southern Families and all six volumes of Notable Southern Families. Originally published by the Genealogical Publishing Company, these volumes contain information about approximately 132,000 individuals. Both series of books contain genealogies that cover a broad spectrum of Southern families... From each carefully compiled genealogy, you can generally learn the following information about your Southern ancestor : Birthdate and location - marriage date and location - death date and location - a description of property - will information - occupation.
Access: Hoole Library
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Genealogy
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1837-present: books and articles; 1949-present: theses and dissertations
Description: An international database covering sports medicine, sports law, exercise physiology, biomechanics, sports psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical fitness, recreation facilities and equipment. Includes citations to scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, reports, and other materials produced by international sports organizations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 2008-present
Description: Sports Medicine and Exercise Science, developed through a partnership with Healthy Living, a leading producer of sports medicine videos, is an online collection for the study of disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, special populations, fitness and health assessment, medical fitness, exercise adherence, sport science, worksite wellness, and much more. This extensive video library contains expert lectures and practical demonstrations of movement and exercise training techniques, class management and design, and motivation, along with other movement science topics.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SpringerLink Some Full Text
Coverage: Full text coverage varies with journal title. Full text is available from 1997 to present for many Springer journal titles, and selected book series.
Description: An index to Springer journals and e-books. Includes full text of selected titles. Provides access to individual book chapters.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Geology, Mathematics, Nursing & Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Science
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
SpringerMaterials All Full Text
Coverage: Current and historical data
Description: Includes physical and chemical data in material science along with references to literature citations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Physics & Astronomy, Science
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Current
Description: SRDS is the leading provider of media rates (ad prices) and related data for advertisers. It lists advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information (e.g. how many years in business and the name of the owner) for a broad range of media selling advertising space. SRDS also contains selected demographic and market information for metropolitan areas and counties
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work and is a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. In a dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field and is responsive to new research.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Classics, Philosophy
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1500-1603
Description: State Papers Online is a collection of facsimile reproductions of British official documents from the Tudor/Stuart period. Part I includes the complete collection of State Papers Domestic from the reigns of Henry VIII and Elizabeth I, 1509-1603. Each document is linked to its corresponding, fully searchable Calendar entry.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Statista All Full Text
Coverage: 1950-current (varies by topic)
Description: Statista is a statistics portal to the world of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into subject sectors, Statista provides patrons with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistical data can be downloaded directly into PowerPoint, Excel, and JPG formats.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Statistical Insight Some Full Text
Coverage: 1973-present
Description: Statistics produced by federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations with advanced PowerTables which allow direct searching for a table based on subject terms, coverage date, and other criteria. Also includes updated links to the fulltext of many statistical reports on government websites. Additional Research Tables module adds more PowerTables with special focus on business-related statistics. Include the PDF full text of ASI: American Statistics Index, and the indexes for IIS: Index to International Statistics and SRI: Statistical Reference Index.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Student Edition (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1985-present
Description: General reference database for high school students. Contains citations and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers covering a broad range of topics, including current events, arts, science, health, government, history, sports, and more. Also provides access to the Information Please Almanac and the Information Please Sports Almanac.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Student Research Center (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: General reference database which contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues, as well as current events. Entries are selected from Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: K-12 Resources
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Stylesight Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Stylesight helps assess current trends, collaborate and analyze trend forecasts and report for effective results during a design cycle. Stylesight's extraordinary image library is a virtual wellspring of idea generation with over two million images of Women's, Men's & Children's fashion as well as Interiors including coverage of all Designer Collections from New York, Paris, London, Milan and more. It includes fashion buzz on the streets and retail of key fashion & interior design stores of all of these major cities. Vintage, Denim, Color, Trade Shows, Celebrity Fashion, Flats Sketches, original Graphic Design, and Mood Images round out our rich image search engine with new content uploaded daily.
Stylesight delivers concise forecasting and reporting relevant to industry time lines. The in-depth universal Megacolors and Megatrends forecast the upcoming seasons color and trend direction. The trend boards provide thorough and insightful analysis of designer collections for each major season, deciphering the core messages by category, such as color, theme and a spectrum of key items from an ocean of images. Access limited to 20 simultaneous users
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available