The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
15 matches found
N
Nation Archive All Full Text
Coverage: 1865-present
Description: “Established July 6, 1865, The Nation offers a 135-year archive of reporting opinion and criticism. It is an immensely important clearinghouse of primary source material covering the history of politics, culture, books and the arts - in America and around the world. The Nation Digital Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile.”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1888 - Current
Description: The National Geographic Virtual Library contains a complete, digitized archive of National Geographic Magazine. The resource includes not just full-text articles but also images and advertisements, all of which are searchable. The Virtual Library also includes additional content, such as National Geographic books, maps and videos.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: NSDL is a digital library of exemplary resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. Starting with a partnership of NSDL-funded projects, NSDL is emerging as a center of innovation in digital libraries as applied to education, and a community center for groups focused on digital-library-enabled science education.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Nations of the World Online (Temporarily unavailable) All Full Text
Coverage: 2012 updated edition
Description: Country profiles of 231 countries, including political, economic, business and social climate.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Naxos Music Library All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Comprehensive collection of classical music available for streaming online; also includes selections from historical recordings, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music. Contains the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs as well as recordings from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, BIS (Sweden), and Analekta. Updated monthly. Limited to 15 simultaneous users. The Naxos Music Library streams exclusively with Adobe Flash Player. If Adobe Flash Player 10 is not installed on your computer, please take a moment and install: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
New Pauly Online All Full Text
Coverage: Ancient world
Description: New Pauly Online is an online edition of the authoritative German encyclopedia of the ancient world, Der Neue Pauly, together with its English translation Brill’s New Pauly. Included in the database are the original 15-volume encyclopedia, all supplements, and a 5-volume set on the Classical Tradition.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, Philosophy, Religious Studies
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Newspaper Source (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1995-current
Description: Provides cover-to-cover indexing for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today from 1995 to the present. Also included is complete full-text coverage of the Christian Science Monitor and selective full-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times, 159 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, General-purpose Databases, Social Work
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Available
NewspaperARCHIVE.com All Full Text
Coverage: Full-text 1759-present
Description: NewspaperARCHIVE.com Pro Version offers a range of newspapers. Dates of coverage and full-text availability varies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, History
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1800-1899
Description: This collection offers a broad, comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in Britain during the 19th century, and also provides a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, the selected publications provide coverage of well-known historic events, cultural icons, sporting events, the arts, culture and other national pastimes.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Long 19th Century
Description: NCCO is an ongoing digitization project, focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Drawn from libraries worldwide and representing multiple languages, the collection includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. At present, the database comprises eight discrete subject collections: 1) British Politics and Society; 2) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; 3) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; 5) Europe and Africa; 6) Photography; 7) Science, Technology, and Medicine; and 8) Women.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, French, German Language & Literature, History, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Nineteenth Century.
Description: An index to nineteenth century literature. Contains the noted indexes: Poole's Index to periodical Literature, New York Times Index, Palmers Index to The Times, Harper's Magazine Index, Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications, and others.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1800-1899
Description: 19th Century UK Periodicals is a multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Subscription only to Series 2. Few of the materials in this online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been captured. Part 2: Empire covers the role Britain played beyond its own borders as an imperial power throughout the nineteenth century. Complete runs of 91 periodicals chart a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building. Sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and the National Library of Australia, the collection contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Dates vary between titles throughout the 19th century
Description: Covers a wide variety of American newspapers, both major and minor, from the 19th century. Includes everything from major news, editorials, sports, and classified, as well as advertisements.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Colonial times to 1950.
Description: When complete, North American Women's Letters and Diaries will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Gender & Women's Studies, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
NTIS Some Full Text
Coverage: 1899 - present
Description: NTIS (The National Technical Information Service) is the premier database for accessing unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies. The database contains access to millions of critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available