The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
25 matches found
M
Coverage: 1850-1877 (updates vary)
Description: Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collections at Cornell and Michigan are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collections currently contain books, monograph volumes and journal articles with 19th century imprints. Making of America is made possible by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Genealogy, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1850-1877 (updates vary)
Description: Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collections at Cornell and Michigan are particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collections currently contain books, monograph volumes and journal articles with 19th century imprints. Making of America is made possible by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Genealogy, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Making of Modern Law Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1800s and early 1900s
Description: “The Making of Modern Law offers important research material for researchers of social, legal, economic, political, and cultural history as well as criminology, religion, social welfare, and sociology. It also provides source and background material for victorian literature, and 19th- and early 20th- century studies. Society and its changing morality can be studied through titles on the morality of the law. Discussion of cases, procedures and reasons for a change in the law, offer the historian a fascinating insight into attitudes, predominant prejudices and the manner in which society functioned.”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Mango Languages Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Mango Languages is an interactive online program containing over 60 foreign and English language courses. Mango offers a variety of interactive tools to deliver both practical conversational skills and cultural insight that assists learners to speak languages intuitively.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: French, General-purpose Databases, Italian, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Marquis Who's Who All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: A source of biographical information on 1.2 million persons from all professions and walks of life. Also includes historical biographies of deceased individuals from Who Was Who in America 1607-present. Limited to 1 simultaneous user. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Biographies
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
MAS Ultra - School Edition (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Abstracting 1984-present, full-text 1990-present
Description: Provides full text from 440+ periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. Contains indexing and abstracts for 530+ magazines and 3,000+ charts, tables and graphs. Also includes 5,000 full-text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 144 Macmillan books; 540+ full-text health and science-related pamphlets; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, K-12 Resources
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
MasterFILE Premier (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Abstracting 1984-present, full-text 1990-present
Description: Provides full text from over 1,810 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,780 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
MathSciNet Some Full Text
Coverage: 1940-current
Description: MathSciNet is a database produced by the American Mathematical Society, and it indexes new published contributions to mathematical research. MathSciNet provides Web access to Current Mathematical Publications (CMP), which is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications, and Mathematical Reviews (MR), which provides reviews or summaries from 1600 journals, serials and books. Records can be searched by standard methods of author, title, keyword, etc., or through the database's subject classification system. Covers 1940-present: CMP data is updated daily, MR monthly. (Source=UIUC)
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering, Mathematics, Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
MEDLINE (Ovid) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1948 to present
Description: Medline access from OVID
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Meet the Press Some Full Text
Coverage: 1947 - current
Description: This database contains streaming video of NBC’s “Meet the Press,” providing most of the show’s footage since it began in 1947. The database allows users to search for episodes or to browse by date or topic. It also allows users to build playlists, to export videos to citation managers, and to view transcripts of the clips.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Mental Measurements Yearbook (NAAL) No Full Text
Coverage: 10th edition (1989)-present
Description: Descriptions and reviews of tests and assessments in 18 major categories, mostly related to education and psychology.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Mergent Archives All Full Text
Coverage: 1900s-current
Description: Mergent Archives features a large indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. The University of Alabama’s subscription provides the following subsets, accessible in tabulated form, within a common interface: Mergent Historical Annual Reports Dating back to the early 1900’s, Mergent’s Historical Annual Reports collection offers over 600,000 corporate annual reports available in PDF format for the United States, Canada and Europe. Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory Archives The Million Dollar Directory Archives is a digital image of each individual year providing company/word search within edition. Directories are also combined by decade, enabling searching across multiple volumes. It covers private and public companies in the United States and worldwide, and can be used to find companies by industry, size, or location, to determine if a company is private or public, as well as information about executives, and subsidiaries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Mergent BondViewer All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Mergent BondViewer covers US taxable and municipal fixed-income data. Includes information on both issuer and bond level terms and conditions. Access to over 3 million municipal secutiries and 320,000 US tabable securities is provided.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Mergent Digital Manuals All Full Text
Coverage: Varies by manual series. Earliest begins 1909.
Description: Dating as far back as 1909, the complete Mergent (Moody’s) Manual collection is delivered through the Mergent WebReports website. The manuals encompass year by year company information including financials, a detailed textual business and history description, listings of officers and directors, stock and dividend information, listings of subsidiaries and more. This corporate manuals database also includes some relatively current information, but the primary source for in-depth company information is the separate Mergent Online database.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Mergent Online All Full Text
Coverage: Varies. May provide ten years of financial statement summaries and over ten years of annual reports.
Description: A suite of extensive financial information on US and international public companies, provides digital images of annual reports to shareholders, complete text of SEC filings, equity research reports, global historical stock prices, corporate and municipal bond data, and industry reports. Also includes Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Data.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Middle Search Plus (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Indexing 1984-present, full-text 1990-present
Description: Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Also includes contains biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags as well as Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; Essential Documents in American History; and The Encyclopedia of Animals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: K-12 Resources
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Military & Government Collection (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Government Information, Maps
Scout Coverage: Available
Milton: A Bibliography No Full Text
Coverage: 1624-1799
Description: This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Mintel Reports All Full Text
Coverage: 2005 - current
Description: Mintel reports provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Available
MIT CogNet Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Current information, with journal coverage from the '90s
Description: Resources for brain/cognitive sciences from MIT. Full text MIT journals and books, plus MIT OpenCourseWare and Video.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Psychology
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1926-present
Description: Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communicative Disorders, English, French, German Language & Literature, Italian, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1895-1976
Description: The Monthly Catalog is a comprehensive index to information produced by the U.S. government from 1895-1976, including those of the Congress and all executive departments. The database does not include full text, but it can help identify items in the UA Libraries’ government documents collection that are not represented in the Libraries’ Catalog.
Access:
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies. Covers filings from mid-1990s to present.
Description: Search engine that provides for expanded coverage and advanced search capabilities of corporation reports in the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) database. Enables real-time searches on up-to-the-miniute filings in the SEC EDGAR system, plus custom reports and downloads.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: Morningstar Investment Research Center is an Internet-based research service covering 6,000 stocks, 16,000 mutual funds, and 150 exchange-traded funds. Includes 3,700 Fund and Analyst reports. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Music Index Online Some Full Text
Coverage: 1979-present
Description: Published since 1949, The Music Index: A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature indexes over 600 international periodicals about music. A broad range of subjects is covered including: composers and performers, the history of music, forms and types of music, and music instruments. Book reviews, music reviews, and reviews of performances are indexed, and first performances and obituaries are noted. The online version of Music Index provides coverage from 1979.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Theater and Dance
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Music
Scout Coverage: Available