The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
19 matches found
L
Coverage: 1808-1922
Description: This full-text collection of 19th- and 20th-century Latin American newspapers includes more than 35 titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Latin American Studies, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: This collection of 16 modern and historical Latin Dictionaries includes Lewis & Short’s Latin Dictionary, and Du Cange’s Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Colonial period – 1960s
Description: A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, politics, and culture from colonial times to the 20th century.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
LearningExpress Library All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Provided by the Alabama Public Library Service, Learning Express Library offers unlimited, 24/7 access to targeted skill–building interactive courses and practice tests for most undergraduate and graduate exams as well as professional exams. Tests included are GRE, ACT, SAT, TOEFL, LSAT, GMAT MCAT and PRAXIS among many others. Tests for general math, reading, writing, software applications such as Microsoft office, and Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator are also included. All practice tests include instant diagnostic score reports that help target those skill areas that need the most attention.
ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS: First-time users must create an account HERE. Choose Learning Express Library from the Resource and Research Links list, and then create an account with a username and password. Using your MyBama username and password is not required.
Registered users CLICK HERE to login.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
LegalTrac Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1980-present
Description: Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law, Social Work
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Legislative Insight Some Full Text
Coverage: 1929 - present
Description: Legislative Insight contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints. Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications that provide background information related to the making of the law are also included.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
LexisNexis Academic Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Academic provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Law, Social Work
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Available
LGBT Life with Full Text Some Full Text
Coverage: 1967-present
Description: Provides abstracts and citations to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender literature published worldwide. Citations represent periodical articles, books, newspapers, newsletters, case studies, speeches, and other formats. The National Information Services Corporation’s Sexual Diversity Studies and One National Gay & Lesbian Archives contributed information held in LGBT Life. Lesbian Herstory Archives of the Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation will assist with further development of the database. Depth of coverage varies by source. Also, includes full text for 50 LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text books.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Gender & Women's Studies, Social Work
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1980-current
Description: A bibliographic database that indexes more than 229 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere from 1984 to the present. Books, chapters within books, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1905-1983
Description: Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (1905-1983) is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. This is a companion database to Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage:
Description: This database presents a collection of more than 3,500 Latin texts from Antiquity to the twentieth century. Material is drawn from existing scholarly editions and from work undertaken by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium.’ The database is cross-searchable with other full-text Brepolis databases.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Mid 1960s-present
Description: Bibliographic database providing free coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online info retrieval, information management and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage:
Description: "Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings, from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews, that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC." --WebSpirs Database Guides
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Classics, Communications, Communicative Disorders, French, German Language & Literature, Italian, Linguistics, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Includes series volumes published through June 2008
Description: This online searchable edition of Gale’s Literary Criticism series presents excerpts from modern and historical criticism of works across region, genre, and period. Included are ten print series: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Literature Online (LION) Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: A fully searchable Library of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, and key criticism and reference resources.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Literature Resource Center (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1926-present
Description: Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: German Language & Literature
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Literature Resources from Gale Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Author/title coverage from ancient times to the present; critical coverage primarily 20th century, some earlier.
Description: Literature Resources permits cross-searching of several Gale literature databases: Literature Resource Center; LitFinder; Scribner Writers Series; Twayne’s Authors Series; and Gale Virtual Reference Library. Together these resources provide access to criticism, reviews, biographies, work overviews, and the full text of some literary works
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, English, French, Italian, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
LitFinder Some Full Text
Coverage: Antiquity to the present
Description: LitFinder, formerly PoemFinder and StoryFinder, provides indexing and some full-text access to a wide range of poetry, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in anthologies. Also included are biographical essays, work overviews, and topic overviews. The database can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, character name, author’s gender or ethnicity, publication date, document type, or genre.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
LLBA Some Full Text
Coverage:
Description: "Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings, from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews, that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC." --WebSpirs Database Guides
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Classics, Communications, Communicative Disorders, French, German Language & Literature, Italian, Linguistics, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available