The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
42 matches found
C
Coverage: Varies
Description: Subscription includes access to the following directories: Accounting; Economics and Finance; Management; Marketing; Educational Curriculum and Methods; Educational Psychology and Administration; Educational Technology and Library Science. Available information includes addresses, phones, e-mails and web sites for listed journals to assist as a point of reference when preparing to publish a manuscript. Links are also provided directing users to guidelines and submission information.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Directories, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1991-present
Description: This database provides online access to three components of the Cambridge Companion series from Cambridge University Press: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Cambridge Companions to Religion, Philosophy, and Culture; and Cambridge Companions to Music. The collection is fully searchable by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, English, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Cambridge Histories Online (NAAL) All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Today, the Cambridge Histories encompass over 200 authoritative volumes in a vast range of topics, including: Political Thought, American Foreign Relations, Ancient History, Japan, Iran, Medieval History, Science, Africa, Modern Britain, Russia, Native Peoples of the Americas, Irish Literature, Latin America, Pacific Islanders, Literary Criticism, The English Language, British Theatre, Music, African and Caribbean Literature, China, Judaism. This vast collection of leading scholarly content, representing the most authoritative historical research, is now available electronically for the first time and exclusively through Cambridge Histories Online.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, English, History, Latin American Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 3000 B.C. to present
Description: A premier resource of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Caribbean Newspapers All Full Text
Coverage: 1718-1876
Description: A component of the database America’s Historical Newspapers, this collection documents more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history. The material is mostly in English, with some in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: July 1976-present
Description: An index of materials produced by the federal government from 1976 to the present.
Access:
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Updated continuously. Coverage varies by source.
Description: Web access to the complete text of important state and federal tax materials; codes, regulations, cases, rulings, editorial explanations, and so on. Searchable by code section, keyword, or citation.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
CenStats All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Collection of statistical resources from the Census Bureau databases. Databases include: census tract street locator, international trade data, building permits, zip code business patterns, financial data for state and local schools and governments, USA counties, occupation data by race, Hispanic origin, and sex, annual survey of manufactures, etc.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Social Work
Material Type: Government Information, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
CHEMnetBASE All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Chemistry handbooks online.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Physics & Astronomy
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: The series covers the entire time span of the production of children’s literature, from Aesop to the present.
Description: Children’s Literature Review is a compilation of excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on major authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Entries aim to present blanaced overviews of a writer’s work, or in some cases, of one major title, including biographical information, listings of works and awards, and excerpts from critical articles and commentaries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1993-present
Description: Comprehensive coverage of children's books, reviews, awards and teaching materials. Reviews 3,000 books annually covering 24 sources since 1993.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, K-12 Resources
Material Type: Book Reviews, Catalogs, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
China Academic Journals Database Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1994-present
Description: A full-text database of Chinese journals; subscription includes one module, Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy.
NOTE: Use of Internet Explorer is recommended for web browsing.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Chronicle of Higher Education, The (NAAL) All Full Text
Coverage: 1989-present
Description: Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. The Web site is updated throughout the day with the latest news in academe (NO EMBARGO of content). Also included are the text from the current print edition, posted every Monday morning; a searchable archive of back issues; all the commentary and essays from the weekly magazine, The Chronicle Review; all the data from the annual Almanac and other special, single-topic reports in easy-to-search databases; online "extras" such as slide shows, podcasts, and video.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1998-current
Description: The Chronicle of Philanthropy provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields, as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors. Along with news, it offers such service features as lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, reports on tax and court rulings, summaries of books, and a calendar of events.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (NAAL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1937-present
Description: CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides authoritative coverage for over 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: c. 1855-1925
Description: A collection of memoirs, newspaper articles, pamphlets, and regimental histories, organized in five sections: A Newspaper Perspective; The Soldiers’ Perspective; The Generals’ Perspective; A Midwestern Perspective; Iowa’s Perspective; and Northeast Regimental Histories.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History
Material Type: E-Books, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1861-1865
Description: From web site: Diaires, letters, scrapbooks, illustrations, and other primary sources on the American Civil War from the New York Historical Society. Offers accounts from Northerners and Southerners; battlfields and home front; land and sea. Includes some sources from the years immediately before and after the war.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Clase Periodica No Full Text
Coverage: Clase 1975-present, Periodica 1978-present
Description: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Combines CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades), which indexes indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities (over 1,200 sources) and PERIODICA, which covers journals specializing in science and technology (over 1,400 sources). Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Latin American Studies, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Classical Music Library All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Classical Music Library is the world's first classical music collection for listening on computers in the library and at home. Includes 12,000-plus recordings plus 1000's of program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users. Note: System Requirements for the optimum experience - an audio-enabled computer, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 or later, Windows Media Player v8 or later.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Classical Scores Library All Full Text
Coverage: Renaissance to 21st century
Description: Contains more than 40,00 scores spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century and including in-copyright works from major publishers. Also includes never-before-published scores and contemporary self-published scores by composers from around the world. Coordinates with recordings in the Classical Music Library. Scores may be printed and projected for use in the classroom. Users may not use printed copies for performance.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, Music
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Cochrane Collection Plus Some Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Cochrane Collection Plus is the most comprehensive collection of databases from the Cochrane Library. Cochrane Collection Plus is an essential source of high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects(DARE) and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. All databases in Cochrane Collection Plus are published by Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Nursing & Medicine, Social Work
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Collected works of John Dewey, 1882-1953 All Full Text
Coverage: 1862-1953
Description: Contains the complete text of Dewey's work as it appears in the thirty-seven volume printed edition published by Southern Illinois University Press between 1967 and 1990.
Access: McLure Library
Primary Subjects: Philosophy
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1990 – present
Description: Coloribus is an archive of over 2 million advertising cases, from the United States and around the world. The archive includes print and billboard ads, video files, and audio files. Includes basic and advanced search features. Access limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1915-present
Description: CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, selected coverage of over 100 more, and fulltext for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Communicative Disorders
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Communication Source All Full Text
Coverage: 1980s - current
Description: Communication Source merges EBSCO’s Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1952-present
Description: A full text database of over 12,800 articles from journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, intercultural communication, television, film and media studies, rhetoric and written communication.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Communicative Disorders
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1990 - current
Description: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Compendex Some Full Text
Coverage: 1884-current
Description: Provides abstracts and citations for engineering and technical literature published worldwide from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and monographs.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1905-1965
Description: This online edition gathers for the first time the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of T. S. Eliot. When complete, the eight-volume set will present all of Eliot's essays, reviews, lectures, commentaries from The Criterion, and letters to editors, including more than 700 uncollected and 150 unpublished pieces from 1905 to 1965.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies. Some reports form 1996 forward.
Description: Authoritative research reports on topical business subjects including: Executive and Director Compensation, Human Capital, Economies and Markets, Corporate Leadership, and more. Also includes articles from The Conference Board Review magazine.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1945-2008
Description: Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. This well established series from CQ Press offers comprehensive and signature coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Political Science
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Congressional Some Full Text
Coverage: 1789-present
Description: Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including the full text of Congressional documents, reports, and hearings as well as CRS reports on timely issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 2004-present
Description: The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics, including agriculture, the environment, foreign relations, military expenditures and conflicts, as well as the workings of the U.S. government.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Congressional Serial Set All Full Text
Coverage: 1789-2003
Description: The U.S. Serial Set includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. The Serial Set captures American life from the late 19th century onward from westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Contemporary Authors (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Early 20th century-present
Description: A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, French, Italian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Current
Description: Counseling and Therapy in Video provides a rich online collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos are presented from multiple perspectives and include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, lectures, and synchronized, searchable transcripts. Users can browse by subject, therapist, therapy type, theme and video type.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Available
CQ Researcher All Full Text
Coverage: 1991-current
Description: The database provides a weekly in-depth report on a current events topic. Each report includes sections which include an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Political Science
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Criminal Justice, Social Work, Sociology
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1980 - current
Description: Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video is a collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. From law enforcement and corrections personnel, to first responders and victims’ advocates, this compilation of documentaries, training videos, and interviews visually depicts the theoretical principles and practical application of criminal justice and emergency response.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Criminal Justice
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Criterion Collection Some Full Text
Coverage: 1920s – 2000.
Description: The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
CRL Databases No Full Text
Coverage: Varies by collection
Description: The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world. Six area studies microfilming projects cover Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Slavic and Eastern European countries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Catalogs, Digital Images, Dissertations and Theses, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1975-present
Description: Indexes articles on statistics from over 1300 journals, most since 1975. Also includes about 11,000 books.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Mathematics
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available