The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
30 matches found
B
BCC Research All Full Text
Coverage: Reports published approximately monthly for the industries covered. Includes 5-year market forecasts.
Description: Provides information on the economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high-technology fields, includes industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems, nanotechnology and novel processing methods.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Berg Fashion Library All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. This resource features articles written by noted history of fashion experts and included images from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Content also includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Best's Library Center All Full Text
Coverage: Current. Also includes historical reports.
Description: Financial data, ratings, and analysis of thousands of individual insurance companies in the U.S. Includes Life/Health and Property/Casualty companies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1957-present
Description: Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, a project of the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale, is an interdisciplinary bibliography of monographs relating to the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, 300-1500. It is cross-searchable with the International Medieval Bibliography and contains live links to the Lexikon des Mittelalters and the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1985-present
Description: German language index of (primarily) German language periodicals. Covers all aspects of German language and literature. Indexes significantly more German language publications than other English language literature indexes (MLA, Humanities Index, etc.)
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: French, German Language & Literature
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1971-current
Description: Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Philosophy, Religious Studies
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1900-present
Description: “The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available (you or your institution may need an appropriate subscription to take advantage of some of these links).”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Catalogs, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1500-1640
Description: This bibliography, compiled by Betty S. Travitsky, is an index to texts by and about approximately 738 women writers from the early modern period. Included are many hitherto unknown authors from both the British Isles and the colonies. The texts are searchable by author, title, keyword, genre, or form.
Access:
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: B.C.-current
Description: Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources, both current and retrospective, that cover historical as well as contemporary figures from all fields of endeavor.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Gender & Women's Studies, Genealogy
Material Type: Biographies, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Biological Abstracts Some Full Text
Coverage: 1955-present
Description: Covers journal literature in the life sciences. Specific subjects include General Biology; Cell Biology; Genetics; Zoology; Botany; Microbiology; Evolutionary Biology; Molecular Biology; Ecology; and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Science
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
BioOne All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Full-text of over 150 bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Browsable by date. Searchable by author and keyword in the title, abstract, full-text, or reference fields.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
BIOSIS Previews Some Full Text
Coverage: 1926-present
Description: Covers 5,000 journals, as well as non-journal literature from published reports, annual or irregular reviews, books, and patents. It also includes published meeting papers from over 2,000 worldwide conferences and symposia. Subjects include pre-clinical and experimental research methods and instrumentation, animal studies, environmental and consumer issues, as well as other areas in the life sciences. Specific subjects include Biology, General; Neurology; Neuroscience; Physiology; Agronomy; Biochemistry & Biophysics; Cell Biology; Genetics; Zoology; Multidisciplinary Life & Medical Sciences; Earth & Environmental Sciences; Food Science & Technology; Microbiology; Anatomy; Developmental Biology; Plant Sciences; Embryology; Histology; Molecular Biology; Neuroanatomy; Pharmacology; Science,General.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Science
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Birds of North America Online Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture
Material Type: Digital Images, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Black Drama All Full Text
Coverage: Mid 1800s to the present
Description: Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written by more that 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, English, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Black Studies Center All Full Text
Coverage: Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; International Index to Black Periodicals, 1902-present; Schomburg Essays—published in the present, but they cover themes from history.
Description: Black Studies Center is a tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. The Black Studies Center is a digital collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times. At its core is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience™, a series of topical studies that help define the development of Black Studies as an academic field. The Black Studies Center gateway makes the Schomburg Studies cross-searchable with the historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender, 1905-1975, as well as current scholarly journals from International Index to Black Periodicals—Full Text™. Black Studies Center contains the following types of materials: historical and current; primary and secondary; popular and scholarly; objective fact and subjective context studies; newspapers; and other periodicals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, History
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Bloomberg Information Service All Full Text
Coverage: Updated continuously.
Description: Comprehensive source of investment information. Covers all types of securities and worldwide exchanges. Flexible interface allows user to construct graphs, create tables, etc. Professional tool used in investment companies like Merrill Lynch.
Access: Bruno Library
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Continually updated
Description: Full-text access to BNA's U.S. Income and Estates, Gifts, and Trusts porfolios. Supporting primary sources such as the Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Cases, etc. are also included.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1983-current
Description: Reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books from 1983-current. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Book Reviews
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1905-1982
Description: Reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books from 1905-1982. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Book Reviews
Scout Coverage: Available
Book Review Index No Full Text
Coverage: 1965-current
Description: Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. It has up-to-date coverage, broad subject coverage and includes citations for both newly published and older materials.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Book Reviews
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Books in Print (Global) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Global Books In Print contains references and abstracts for books and other published material, including in-print, out-of-print, out-of-stock and forthcoming titles. Global Books In Print with Book Reviews includes full-text reviews from sources such as Library Journal. You can search by author, subject, title, International Standard Book Number (ISBN) and many other ways.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
BookSource: Nonfiction (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1998-current
Description: BookSource: Nonfiction contains informative abstracts and full text for more than 2,000 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on social studies and science, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, and technology.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Book Reviews
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Brepolis All Full Text
Coverage: Varies by database.
Description: “Brepolis” is a cluster of databases produced by Brepols Publishers. Two bibliographic databases (International Medieval Bibliography Online and Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale Online: International Bibliography of Monographs) provide comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage of the European Middle Ages and partial coverage for the Middle East and North Africa. Also available on this site are three full-text encyclopedias of the Middle Ages (Lexikon des Mittelalters Online, International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages, and Europa Sacra); the International Directory of Medievalists; and a collection of Latin dictionaries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Britannica Online (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current.
Description: Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by Encyclopaedia Britannica editors and contributors; over 14,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 215,000 entries--including definitions, pronunciation guides, and word histories.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1500s-1700s
Description: British History Online is a digital library containing core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Included are: the Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (Edward I to Henry VII), all the volumes of the Calendar of State Papers, Domestic 1537-1714, the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland, plus the Calendar of Close Rolls. Note that State Papers Online covers only the Tudor Period: 1509-1603.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
British Periodicals All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type: Full Text, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 2010-2012
Description: Curriculum-oriented, born digital books for business students needing practical treatments of everyday business issues. Real-world business experience translated into accessible, issues-based texts for students with entrepreneurial, management and leadership interests. Topics include Management Communication, Marketing Strategy, Sustainable Business, and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Business Insights: Essentials (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: 1980-current
Description: Provides up-to-date competitive intelligence on 300,000+ companies and information concerning career and investment opportunities. Searchable by company name, ticker symbol, SIC or NAICS code, article subject, or geographic location. Contains company histories, chronologies, and rankings, as well as brand and product information. Contains Investext, CDA Investment Insider buying and selling activity, HR Law Case Digest, and contact information on associations within the company's industry.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Business Source Complete Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Depth of full text coverage varies, extending back to 1965 in some cases, and further for selected scholarly titles.
Description: Top version of Business Source products offered in the EBSCOhost family of databases. Full text of thousands of scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications, plus indexing and abstracts for additional journals. Includes case studies, company/industry, country, and market reports, SWOT analyses, executive interviews, and working paper collections.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Business Source Premier (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Varies. Indexing and abstracting are provided back to 1965.
Description: Full text of about 3,000 journals in all aspects of business, plus indexing and abstracts for an additional 3,800 journals. Depth of full-text coverage varies, extending back to 1965 in some cases and further for selected scholarly titles; indexing and abstracts are provided back to 1965.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available