The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
60 matches found
A
ABI/INFORM Complete (NAAL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1971-current
Description: Abstracts and articles from over 1200 journals and magazines in all business fields. Can be searched by word, topic, author, etc. Search by publication to retrieve all the articles from a particular issue.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, General-purpose Databases, Human Environmental Studies, Social Work
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ABSEES Online Some Full Text
Coverage: 1990-present, updated monthly
Description: ABSEES Online includes over 36,000 records covering articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Russian
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 2001-current
Description: Abstracts in Anthropology provides a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. It also tracks subcultures within industrialized nations and topics such as social welfare issues, drug abuse programs, geriatric caregiver issues and applied anthropology. Subjects covered in physical anthropology now include medical issues such as intervention, genetic engineering and societal factors in disease transmission.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1990-current
Description: Current literature/research on social aging; some physiology of aging; history; psychology; statistics; social work.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Communicative Disorders, Criminal Justice, Education, Gender & Women's Studies, Human Environmental Studies, Law, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Available
Academic Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Academic provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Law, Social Work
Material Type: Directories, Full Text, Government Information, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Available
Academic OneFile Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1980-current (varies)
Description: Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communicative Disorders, Criminal Justice, Gender & Women's Studies, General-purpose Databases, Geography, History, Human Environmental Studies, International Studies, Library Science, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Academic Search Premier (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Indexing/Abstracts—Beginning dates vary considerably from 1865 to 2000; Full text--Dates vary, many titles as early as 1965.
Description: Academic Search Premier contains the full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 magazines, news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communicative Disorders, Criminal Justice, Gender & Women's Studies, General-purpose Databases, Geography, History, Human Environmental Studies, International Studies, Library Science, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
AccessEngineering All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: A major collection of electronic reference books in engineering published by McGraw-Hill. Coverage: biomedical, chemical, civil, communications, construction, electrical, energy, environmental, green/sustainable, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nanotechnology, optical.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Accessible Archives All Full Text
Coverage: Primarily 19th century
Description: This collection provides online access to historical information relating to American history and culture. Major components include African American Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, American County Histories, and South Carolina Newspapers.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Communications, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
AccessMedicine All Full Text
Coverage: Update frequently
Description: AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: Continually updated
Description: Searchable full-text database of the authoritative accounting pronouncements. The Accounting, SEC, and Auditing sections are limited to 3 simultaneous users. The Government section is limited to 1 simultaneous user. The FASB Section is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ACLS Humanities E-Book All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Humanities E-Book or HEB (formerly known as History E-Book Project) uses a fully integrated, cross-searchable format to provide access to more than 1500 e-book titles. HEB is expanding to include most humanities disciplines and area studies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ACM Digital Library Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1947-current
Description: Index and full text of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1829-1922
Description: Reports, annuals, magazines, and newspapers from African-American churches and social service agencies. Includes materials from the African Methodist Zion Church, African Methodist Episcopal Church, as well as many Baptist churches, seminaries, hosptials, charities, orphanages, schools, and advocacy groups.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies
Material Type: Catalogs, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1827-1998
Description: This collection includes the full text of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1827-1902
Description: This collection of AFRICAN- AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Included are: Freedom’s Journal, 1827-1829 (New York, NY); Provincial Freeman, 1854-1857 (Chatham, Canada West); The Colored American Weekly Advocate, 1837-1841 (New York, NY); The North Star, 1847-1851 (Rochester, NY); Frederick Douglass Paper, 1851-1859 (Rochester, NY); The Christian Recorder, 1861-1902; The National Era, 1847-1860 (Washington, D.C.); South Carolina Gazette (1732-1751); Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1825-1995 (varies by publication)
Description: When complete, this database will provide access to more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Representing 26 states, the publications offer a range of material, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
AGRICOLA Some Full Text
Coverage: Coverage includes works from as far back as the 15th century
Description: Database provides worldwide access to agricultural information, covers books, articles and other formats. Also includes forestry, wildlife, fisheries, and environmental sciences.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
AIAA Electronic Library Some Full Text
Coverage: Includes full text of AIAA meeting papers online, from 1996 to the present. The database also indexes technical papers, journals, books, and standards from 1930 to the present.
Description: Technical reports from AIAA meetings. Approximately 4000 papers are presented at 20 American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics conferences each year. The online version of each paper appears two to six weeks after the conference.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1990-current
Description: A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Alabama Maps All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Alabama Maps is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Geography
Material Type: Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) Some Full Text
Coverage:
Description: The Alabama Virtual Library, primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal and newspaper articles for research, provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Alt HealthWatch (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Full text--Dates vary, many titles go back to 1990.
Description: Alt HealthWatch contains publications covering alternative, holistic and complementary approaches to health; includes popular publications and peer-reviewed journals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Human Environmental Studies, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Alt-Press Watch All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Provides news source coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the mainstream media.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Gender & Women's Studies, General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Full Text, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
AMA Manual of Style All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Online guide that specifies the writing and citation styles for use in scholarly publications in medicine and other scientific publishing. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1639-1922
Description: This collection of monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera includes four cross-searchable components: Early American Imprints, Series I (Evans, 1639-1800, + supplements); Early American Imprints, Series II (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819, + supplements); American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922 (from the New-York Historical Society); and American Broadsides & Ephemera.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, Genealogy, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies by title
Description: This resource gathers together several cross-searchable newspaper collections from Readex: Early American Newspapers, 1609-1876; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Selected Historical Newspapers. Included are digital facsimiles of almost 2,000 newspapers from all 50 states, including some from Alabama in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
America's News All Full Text
Coverage: 1984-present (dates vary by title)
Description: This collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources offers print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Included are 35 Alabama news sources: Birmingham News, Mobile Press Register, Montgomery Examiner, Anniston Starr, Huntsville Times, and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Political Science
Material Type: Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1964-current
Description: Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Gender & Women's Studies, History, Latin American Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Social Work
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1691-1877
Description: This collection of more than 7,600 historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society documents life in America from the Colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Cover-to-cover digitizing gives access not only to the main text, but also to advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, History
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Coverage: 1760-1900
Description: Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s collection of American broadsides and ephemera, this digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The collection is cross-searchable with other parts of America’s Historical Imprints.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1861-1865
Description: “The American Civil War Research Database® is the definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War, with indexed, searchable information on 4.3 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 16,000 photographs. It contains all of the more than 4,600 known regimental rosters, 3,461 regimental chronicles, and 1,010 officer profiles. Hundreds of individuals have contributed more than 100,000 hours to its creation.”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Circa 1860s
Description: The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war. The extraordinary electronic collection includes 100,000 pages of re-keyed and indexed text, including 4,000 facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscript material. Scholars can read close to 200 intimate letters written by Amos Wood, his wife Clara, and their three-year-old son, Freddie, illustrating what life was like for a Massachusetts family separated by the war. Users can see and compare, for the first time, the writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, seamen, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving both the Northern and the Southern perspectives, along with that of foreign observers.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, E-Books, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1861-1865
Description: This online collection presents the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, political, and military perspectives…At completion, Images of the American Civil War will contain 75,000 images allowing researchers and students to see the moments that occurred as the nation stood divided.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1870-1900; some earlier
Description: Encyclopedic in coverage, county histories support both historical and genealogical research. Topics include wars, government, and professions; churches and minsters; industry and manufacturing; banking; education; health and vital statistics; family histories; geology, geography, and weather; transportation; and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
American Founding Era All Full Text
Coverage: 1740s-1820s
Description: Rotunda’s American Founding Era Collection offers primary and secondary source documents from some of the most preeminent figures of that age. These digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable online environment. This platform includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madision, Dolly Madision, Alexander Hamilton, and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
American Memory All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Art (History and Studio), Gender & Women's Studies, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: From missionaries to musicians, social workers to statisticians, cowboys to chemists, and vikings to astronauts, the portraits in ANB Online combine to reflect the rich diversity of American life from pre-colonial times onwards.
Description: The American National Biography Online is the premier source of information about over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. With sophisticated search capabilities, lively and detailed articles, internal cross-references, up-to-date bibliographies, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to external web resources, ANB Online is ‘likely to induce compulsive browsing’. (Wall Street Journal) Limited to 50 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, English, History
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1820-1922
Description: This collection of more than 25,000 items from the New York Historical Society includes speeches, orations, debates, sermons, treatises, tracts, narratives, poems, songs, memoirs, announcements, legal notices, and more. The collection is cross-searchable with other parts of America’s Historical Imprints.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1740-1900
Description: This unique and valuable collection of over 1000 titles includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, English, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Ancestry Library Edition Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Genealogy, History
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Année Philologique No Full Text
Coverage: 1969-current
Description: L'Année Philologique is an index to scholarly material in the field of Greco-Roman language, literature, archaeology, history, law, science, and philosophy from prehistory to 800 A.D. The database of more than 480,000 records includes indexing and abstracts for books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings, and is searchable by modern author, ancient author or text, subject, or keyword.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Art (History and Studio), Classics, History, Philosophy
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Anthropology Plus Some Full Text
Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Description: Anthroplogy Plus is a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Latin American Studies, Religious Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
AnthroSource All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: E Journal package of current issues of publications from the American Anthropological Association, searchable, fulltext access. Some citation only access to archival publications.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Latin American Studies, Religious Studies
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
AP Stylebook Online All Full Text
Coverage: Contiously updated reference work.
Description: AP Stylebook Online is the continously updated, electronic supplement to the AP Stylebook. It provides further clarification on questions of AP Style.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: The APA Manual of Style is the resource used by authors submitting articles to the American Psychiatric Association journals. Many other journals use APA style as well. APA style is also used by students in Psychology and Social Work for writing papers and dissertations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Psychology
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: Archive Finder brings together ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland), previously available on CD-ROM. ArchivesUSA is a current directory of over 5,500 repositories and more than 161,000 collections of primary source material across the United States. NIDS UK/Ireland is a major reference work that reproduces on microfiche the finding aids to thousands of archive and manuscript collections in libraries and record offices, museums and private collections throughout the UK and Ireland. Used together in Archive Finder, researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. This resource will be useful for anyone doing primary research in any field – especially history, American Studies, English, Philosophy, African American Studies, Political Science, Musicology, etc.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ArchiveGrid No Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Online access (not fulltext) to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Archives Unbound All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Confederate Papers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama; James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi; City and Business Directories: Mississippi, 1860-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: Tennessee, 1849-1929 Digital Archive; City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929 Digital Archive
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: This database provides full-text coverage of more than 350 periodicals and 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1929-1984
Description: Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Book Reviews, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
ARTFL Project All Full Text
Coverage: 12th - 20th centuries
Description: ARTFL is a searchable corpus of primarily French texts in the areas of literature, criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, and treatises. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with smaller sections devoted to seventeenth-century and medieval/Renaissance texts. Also included are several discrete subject databases: Provençal poetry (12th-13th centuries); French Women Writers (16th-19th centuries); Diderot’s Encyclopédie; Textes de Français Ancien (12th-15th centuries); Opera del Vocabulario Italiano (vernacular texts prior to 1375); and Dictionnaires d’Autrefois (1552-1935). Because, in most cases, standard scholarly editions were used in converting the texts to machine-readable form, some copyright restrictions apply.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: French, Linguistics
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ArticleFirst No Full Text
Coverage: 1990-current
Description: Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Area Studies, Art (History and Studio), General-purpose Databases, International Studies, Library Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1985-present
Description: "Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals." -- ISI Web of Science
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
ARTstor All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

OF SPECIAL NOTE: If ARTstor is not functioning properly for you, please check the system requirements. If you are an instructor, please contact Jill Grogg (jgrogg@ua.edu or 348-7994) as there are special user accounts available to you. ARTstor allows for offline viewing with a special Offline Image Viewer. Help and quick tutorials are available.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Art (History and Studio), Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: Conference proceedings begin in 1996; journals in 1983
Description: The research library includes ASCE Conference Proceedings and 31 ASCE journals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ASME Digital Collection Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Transaction journals from 1995 to present. More content is added weekly.
Description: The ASME Digital Library contains ASME's Transaction Journals, Proceedings and E-Books.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Associations Unlimited (NAAL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Contains information for approximately 455,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, it provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms. There is also Internal Revenue Service information on over 300,000 nonprofit organizations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Directories, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (NAAL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Coverage in this collection dates back to 1949
Description: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials contains full text journals representing all major religious faiths, denominations and language groups are included.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Religious Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Audit Analytics All Full Text
Coverage: 2001-current
Description: Provides detailed audit information on over 1,500 accounting firms and 20,000 publicly registered companies. Follow who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports from over 80 data fields including auditor, fees, location, industry and more. Access restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama. Individual account required. See Bruno Library website for details.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available