Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a
new search.)
Coverage:
1865-present
Description:
“Established July 6, 1865, The Nation offers a 135-year archive of reporting opinion and criticism. It is an immensely important clearinghouse of primary source material covering the history of politics, culture, books and the arts - in America and around the world. The Nation Digital Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile.”
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Book Reviews, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Coverage:
Description:
NSDL is a digital library of exemplary resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. Starting with a partnership of NSDL-funded projects, NSDL is emerging as a center of innovation in digital libraries as applied to education, and a community center for groups focused on digital-library-enabled science education.
Access:
WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Digital Images, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
Description:
Comprehensive collection of classical music available for streaming online; also includes selections from historical recordings, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music. Contains the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs as well as recordings from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, BIS (Sweden), and Analekta. Updated monthly. Limited to 15 simultaneous users. The Naxos Music Library streams exclusively with Adobe Flash Player. If Adobe Flash Player 10 is not installed on your computer, please take a moment and install: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Music
Material Type:
Biographies, Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
Ancient world
Description:
New Pauly Online is an online edition of the authoritative German encyclopedia of the ancient world, Der Neue Pauly, together with its English translation Brill’s New Pauly. Included in the database are the original 15-volume encyclopedia, all supplements, and a 5-volume set on the Classical Tradition.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Classics
Material Type:
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
1995-current
Description:
Provides cover-to-cover indexing for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today from 1995 to the present. Also included is complete full-text coverage of the Christian Science Monitor and selective full-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times, 159 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
General-purpose Databases, Communications, Social Work
Material Type:
Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Newspapers
Coverage:
Full-text 1759-present
Description:
NewspaperARCHIVE.com Pro Version offers a range of newspapers. Dates of coverage and full-text availability varies.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
History
Material Type:
Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Coverage:
Nineteenth Century.
Description:
An index to nineteenth century literature. Contains the noted indexes: Poole's Index to periodical Literature, New York Times Index, Palmers Index to The Times, Harper's Magazine Index, Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications, and others.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Communications, Genealogy, History
Material Type:
Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Newspapers
Coverage:
Dates vary between titles throughout the 19th century
Description:
Covers a wide variety of American newspapers, both major and minor, from the 19th century. Includes everything from major news, editorials, sports, and classified, as well as advertisements.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Communications
Material Type:
Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Coverage:
Colonial times to 1950.
Description:
When complete, North American Women's Letters and Diaries will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Genealogy, History, Women's Studies
Material Type:
Biographies, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Coverage:
1899 - present
Description:
NTIS (The National Technical Information Service) is the premier database for accessing unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies. The database contains access to millions of critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Engineering
Material Type:
Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts
Coverage:
Current
Description:
Online collection of videos (streaming video collections) created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All videos and transcripts in the collection have been indexed and are fully searchable and browsable. The current release includes 260 videos. New videos will be added to the collection annually, ensuring that users always have the most up-to-date video content available. Videos in the collection may be replaced in order to reflect changes in accepted practices and principles.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Nursing & Medicine
Material Type:
Digital Images, Reference Sources and Tools